Skip to content

Slick is not overrated

March 16, 2012

Most of the time you’ll find me out somewhere in Wisconsin, clad in typical photographer’s clothing, rough stuff that gets me through days of trudging, hauling, laying on my stomach to get a different angle, sitting in all manner of dirty or wet places, sometimes climbing rocks or on my knees in a barnyard, almost always without first looking at what I’m about to kneel in.  I love the forests, rivers, swamps and farms I get dirty in.  There is another me, though, one that has an Armani suit in the closet that still fits. Mostly. If there is reincarnation, this me wants it to be backwards compatible because I want to come back as one of the guys from the original Rat Pack, in their time period. Humphrey, Frank, Sammy, Dean, doesn’t matter to me, I’d gladly come back as any of them.  This me likes a place that can serve up a perfect cocktail and the perfect steak to follow it.  Atmosphere matters, with big points for retro.  Better than retro is actual retro.  Came across that the other day on a shoot about Wisconsin Supper Clubs.  The HobNob has been at 277 Sheridan Road in Racine since 1954.  The place is beautiful, actual retro, great music playing with a grand view of the lake. A cocktail at the bar sets the tone for a civilized evening.  The HobNob’s manager Theresa, put it something like this ” People are so used to fast food.  We want them to take their time.”  Novel idea these days don’t you think?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Becky Steimle permalink
    March 16, 2012 5:37 pm

    Love the Hobnob, Jer. The neon sign is the best and the white pleather swivel chairs at the bar.

  2. March 21, 2012 8:49 am

    I have been there Jerry. Great place. Ask anyone who knows me, I love Wisconsin Supper Clubs. Always have.

    Tom

  3. Jackie permalink
    March 21, 2012 1:49 pm

    Ahh…supper clubs…now this is a topic I can really sink my teeth into (ha ha)! The Hob Nob looks too good to pass up, Jer. I look forward to visiting there and any other supper club mentioned in the next Trails. I’m just a sucker for a good Old Fashioned.

Leave a comment